// A3M Global Monitoring


Event levels

Global monitoring events are rated on a five-level scale. The assessments for the categories are based on category-specific rules in order to address the differences between each category. The following scale is the underlying principle behind these category-specific rules and does not cover each individual event.

Level 0: no assessment

Level 1: event did not occur (e.g. tsunami, strike, date notification)

Level 2: general risk and/or disruptions for travellers

Level 3: elevated risk and/or increased disruptions for travellers

Level 4: high risk and/or significant disruptions for travellers

Level 5: very high risk and/or severe disruptions for travellers

Risk levels

The colouring of the risk zones mark areas where effects of an event are to be expected. The three colours (yellow, orange, red) can help assessing the effects an event. However, they must always be considered in combination with the event level (level 1 to 5), indicating the impact and extent of an event.

As a general rule, travellers or objects located within the risk zones may be affected by the event. For individual travellers, extensive disruptions are also possible within the yellow risk zone. It is therefore advisable to always check whether the trip is affected by an event.

Red zone

The event has a potential direct effect on travellers or objects within the coloured areas. The red risk zone indicates the possibility of major disruptions or a high risk for travellers.

Orange zone

The event has a potential effect on travellers or objects within the coloured areas. The coloring is also used to mark a warning zone surrounding the red risk zone. The orange risk zone indicates potential disruptions or risks for travellers.

Yellow zone

The event has a potential indirect effect on travellers or objects within the coloured areas. The yellow risk zone indicates marginal disruptions or low risks for travellers. It can also indicate potentially significant disruptions for some types of travel.